Inside, it would be no exaggeration to state that the files are holding up the roof. Later on the Nawabcracy was reduced to a Titular Nawabship. [b]Architect[/b]: [b]Paul Benfield[/b] architect turned Government contractor. indo-saracenic architecture found its way into public buildings of all sorts such as railway stations, banks and insurance buildings, educational institutions, clubs and museums . Even those who have not visited Mysore would know that there is a palace located in that city.

It is situated at Chepauk in Chennai, India. The Chepauk Palace comprises two blocks — Kalas Mahal and Humayun Mahal. As an architecture student, I have a lot of interest in historical monuments and sites. It is quite evident that the Palace is crying out for restoration and if this is denied then we may not have the buildings with us for long. Or is the Government waiting for the buildings to weaken? It has two blocks, the northern block and the southern Block.

Thank you so much for your feedback The offices in these sections have been shifted out but nothing has been done to repair the damage and these portions remain as they are, adding to the wear and tear. Featuring a confluence of British, Indian and Mughal sensibilities, Chepauk Palace served as an inspiration for several later works by renowned architects in Chennai. But, the citizens of Chennai had never been lucky to get a Government that cares and respects heritage value of the city.

Post was not sent - check your email addresses! Chepauk Palace was the official residence of the Nawab of Arcot from 1768 to 1855.

It sparks my curiosity. Kalas Mahal, which was recently restored to its original glory, was the official residence of the Nawabs from 1768 to 1855.

Spread over an area of 117 acres, the palace, which was designed by architect Paul Benfield, was completed in 1768. The PWD has now initiated steps to restore the Humayun Mahal.