(I work in a store with a large metaphysical section in an area with a large number of actual cult members. I recently finished reading Cults In Our Midst—The continuing fight against their hidden menace, by Dr. Margaret Thaler Singer. While the conduct of certain cults causes nonmembers to criticize them, the term cult is not in itself pejorative but simply descriptive. I believe this is a must read, period.

Repetitive chanting, speaking in tongues for any length of time or forceful repetitive body movements are equally efficient. This book was informative about what tactics are used to lure people into cults and what keeps them there. -Web Hosting PLUS All The Tools, © 2006-2019 decision-making-confidence.com All rights reserved, SOLO BUILD IT! And these powerful groups infiltrate many areas of our lives. Cults in Our Midst. In my opinion, cults draw people in part because of the genuine need to explore consciousness, and Singer doesn't recognize this but rather believes that when people join a cult, it is only because of the combination of stress in a person's life and a cult's success in using that stress for its own deceitful purposes. One of the stratagems discussed is a closed system of logic. When groups use aversive emotional arousal techniques such as excessive criticism, strict discipline and punishments, ex-members often suffer from guilt, shame, self blaming attitudes, fears and paranoia, excessive doubts and panic attacks and problems making their own decisions. But the constant THEY ARE EVERYWHERE AND THEY ARE COMING FOR YOUUUUU, while possibly valid, was slightly less than helpful in a serious study. For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now. The book contains fascinating updates on Heaven's Gate, Falun Gong, Aum Shinrikyo, Hare Krishna, the Reverend Sun Myung Moon, and the connection between cults and terrorism in Al Queda and the PLO.

IT WAS AMAZING. Download Product Flyer is to download PDF in new tab.