Katie Kimball, CSME is a trusted educator and author of 8 real food cookbooks. a meal plan in 2 clicks for free! I am still learning and don’t quite understand “why”.

Read on to find out why sourdough is so much more than just another white bread. Keep it in the refrigerator, covered until ready to bake. Thanks for such a thorough, concise article. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs. Sourdough starters improve with age, they used to be passed down generation to generation! Katie, PS – Here’s our family’s fav bread: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/03/12/sourdough-recipes-galore-honey-whole-wheat-sourdough-bread/, From reading about sourdough, there appears to be no added yeast. Here is a quick overview of the steps required: For complete instructions about how to use your starter to make a loaf of bread, check out this video. and start over. Any tips and advice are welcome! Going to make that into flour form to feed the starter. Please remember that I’m just a gal who reads a lot and spends way too much time in her kitchen.

Thanks health enthusiasts. Notify me of follow-up comments by email. Many people consider it to be tastier and healthier than conventional bread. Amount of saturated fat in Sourdough bread: How much monounsaturated fat is in Sourdough bread?

Fats are naturally low in sourdough bread and will be pretty much the same as other breads. Amount of Methionine in Sourdough bread: How much Cystine is in Sourdough bread? So if you need fewer carbs, sprouting is the way to go.